Visitor Counter

mod_vvisit_counterThis week3889
mod_vvisit_counterLast week5639

Today: Jun 24, 2017
Thank You for Visiting!
Home Campus News 2 CCDI students, finalists for TOSB
2 CCDI students, finalists for TOSB
Written by Rose Ajero   

Kathrine Lapayag and Melvin John Frivaldo, both student leaders of Computer Communication Development Institute made it to be among the 25 finalists in the ongoing Search for the Ten Outstanding Students of Bicol (TOSB) out of 120 applicants.


Lapayag, a graduating student in BS Computer Science and Frivaldo, 3rd year of the same course excelled in the screening of their performances in academics, leadership and community involvement. Reportedly, they are the only students from the colleges in Sorsogon who made it to the top 25.


“I am happy that our student leaders are excelling not only in academics, but in leadership and service. Their achievement is a realization of the core values of CCDI Sorsogon.” According to Mr. Balasta, CCDI school administrator.


Final selection will be held on March 15, 2011 in La Piazza Hotel and Convention Center, Legazpi City. The Top 10 who will serve as the youth ambassadors of Bicol will be judged in the following areas: academic performance, leadership, community services, essay and interview.


According to AKB Party List Rep. Rodel Batocabe, out of 120 applicants 57 of them were qualified in the screening. They are from Ateneo de Naga University; University of Nueva Caceres, Naga City; Bicol University (Albay, Masbate, Sorsogon); Camarines Sur Polytechnic Colleges, Naga City and Nabua, Camarines Sur; University of Northeastern Phils., Iriga City; Central Bicol State University of Agri, Cam Sur; La Consolacion College, Daet, Camarines Norte; Mabini College, Cam Norte; Unibersidad de Sta. Isabel, Naga City; Naga College Foundation; San Jose Community College, Albay; Catanduanes State Colleges; Divine Word College of Legazpi (DWCL) Legazpi City and Computer Communication Development Institute, Sorsogon.


The Ten Outstanding Students of Bicol Region is a project of the AKO Bicol Party List, represented by Elizaldy S. Co and Atty. Rodel Batocabe in partnership with the Philippine Association of Campus Advisers in cooperation with the Commission on Higher Education. Mr. Glenn Narvaez is the executive committee chairman of the TOSB. Its main purpose is to promote academic and leadership excellence among the youth of the Bicol Region.


Kathrine Lapayag, a sports editor of Busina Bicol News Express is also CCDI’s nominee to the Ten Outstanding Students of the Philippines in which final selection will be held this May.

Last Updated ( 03/20/2011 )